A-Z Challenge Surnames I

I- IRELAND

ceres

Ceres, Fife where the IRELAND family once lived.

 

This is the one and ONLY  “I” surname in my whole family tree. Helen IRELAND married John Normand in Strathmiglo, Fife on June 20, 1791.

She was sometimes referred to as Helen NORMAND which threw me for a loop when researching her. I thought maybe they were cousins. On her son’s death record he mentions her name and then I knew for sure.

Helen was from the parish of Auchtermuchty and John was from Strathmiglo, both in Fife, Scotland.

Helen was baptised the 7th of February, 1770 in Cupar. Her father Thomas is listed as her father and they are living in Russell Miln (Mill) just south of Cupar. Her parents had children later on at the CHANCE INN in Ceres, and in their baptismal record it says they were baptized privately.

It seems her father Thomas IRELAND and Margaret HENDERSON were married on December 8th, 1761 in Ceres. He was from there and she was from Markinch, Fife. These people moved about a lot!

It seems that Thomas and his brother died in Tarvit Miln (Mill) in 1815. Maybe they were millers as they appear to live wherever there is a mill.

 

About tiesthatbindsite

I'm a genealogist with a passion for Scottish and English ancestry. I'm trilingual so I can also do research in French Canadian records and Italian records. My love for family history began 35 years ago and continues to grow every day. My family is very important to me and I hope to instill in them a love for "where they came from" so that they can better understand who they are. I also want to share my love of family history with anyone who understands how important it is to not lose site of their ancestors. They all have a story to tell.
This entry was posted in April 2016- A-Z Challenge, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A-Z Challenge Surnames I

  1. Fergus Smith says:

    Chance Inn is a village, rather than an inn as such (although presumably there was an inn at some point). Both Tarvit Mill and Russell Mill (a couple of miles NNE of Pitlessie) were flax mills, so your ancestors were probably weavers.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cassmob says:

    I have an Ireland family that married into mine…no idea where they came from.

    @cassmob from
    Family History Across The Seas

    Like

Leave a Reply

